Lakes DHB Iwi Governance Boards


Multiple iwi lie within the Lakes DHB region, with the various Te Arawa iwi in the north (Rotorua area), Ngati Tuwharetoa in the south (Taupo Turangi area), Ngati Kahungunu ki Wairarapa in the west (Mangakino area) and Ngati Manawa in the east (Kaingaroa Village area). 

Lakes DHB has a formal Memorandum of Understanding with our two primary iwi within our rohe (area).  Te Roopu Hauora o Te Arawa (TRHOTA) and Te Nohanga Kotahitanga o Tuwharetoa (TNKOT), are made up of hapu representatives from Te Arawa and Tuwharetoa with representation on both boards of other iwi.  Both Iwi Governance Boards are involved in the planning process and are signatories to the annual plan. 

The relationship with TRHOT and TNKOT acknowledges the Lakes DHB commitment to the Treaty of Waitangi, and having a meaningful partnership with iwi.  Central to this is a shared understanding that health is a taonga (treasure).

In 2015 Te Kahui Oranga was formed.  Te Kahui Oranga is a combined Executive Governance Group consisting of representatives of TRHOTA, TNKOT and Lakes DHB Board members.  Work is currently underway to confirm a revised Terms of Reference and Memorandum of Understandings for Iwi Governance.