Rotorua Anaesthetic Department


The Department of Anaesthesia provides anaesthetic services to all the clinical specialities within Lakes District Health Board, which includes

-          Anaesthesia for elective surgery in both Rotorua and Taupo
-          Anaesthesia for emergency surgery – 24hr service
-          Intensive Care Unit cover
-          Acute Pain Service
-          Obstetric Anaesthesia
We are the largest speciality of Doctors within the hospital and are dedicated to providing patients with the best possible service whilst under our care


      The Team
             We are an active, vibrant team, which presently consists of

-                              - 16 Consultants

-                              - 2 Anaesthetic Registrars

-                              - Anaesthetic Secretary

-                              - 11 Anaesthetic Technicians

-                              - 2 Pain Nurses



Patient Information

The Patient Information link will supply some relevant information for patients undergoing an operation, as well as a section on frequently asked questions.


Contact Us
The anaesthetic department is located on the 3rd floor of the CSB building
Department of Anaesthesia
Lakes District Health Board
Private Bag 3023
Tel:      07 349 7955 ext 7602
Fax:     07 349 7925





26/11/2019 3:14 p.m.
Janet Arnet